The Orphan's Secret

The Orphan's Secret

Shirley Dickson

$3.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

England, 1940: A tear-jerking wartime tale of an orphaned baby who needs a home, and the woman who risks everything to provide it. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Wives of War and Diney Costeloe will be utterly swept away by this heartbreaking – yet beautifully hopeful – World War Two page-turner.

 

With the war raging, Lily has learned not to take life for granted. In a time of such tragedy, every day is a gift. Her husband is a soldier, fighting to save their country, and she prays that she will survive – to one day welcome him home.

 

One sweltering July night, bombs rain down. Lily and her dear friend Ethel, who is nine months pregnant, seek refuge in a shelter. Miraculously, a baby girl is born to the sound of ear-splitting shrieks and explosions in the distance. Once the raid quietens, Lily races into the house to find the newborn a blanket. But then the unthinkable happens, planes thundering right over the rooftops…

 

When Lily rouses, finding herself amongst broken glass and crumbled brick, she is devastated to discover that Ethel has been killed – leaving little Joy behind. With tears rolling down her face, Lily makes a split-second decision.

 

To save the orphaned child, Lily must tell a heartbreaking lie, a secret that she holds close to her chest for years. But when the truth comes out, whose lives will be destroyed? And will she ever be forgiven?

 

Readers absolutely love The Orphan’s Secret:

 

Wow Not sure how I can write this with my tears streaming, what a book. I loved everything about it, fabulous. Top tip, have tissues ready.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Oh, what a gorgeous book this is! Shirley Dickson is a master of historical fiction… Superb… An emotional rollercoaster that manages to be both heartbreaking and also heartwarming, this epic novel will have you completely spellbound throughout. I loved it.’ SIBZZREADS,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘What an incredibly heartbreaking story that I could not put downFantasticWarning: Tissue alert!!!… A touching and tragic book that kept me reading through the night.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I absolutely loved this… A heartbreaking story. You will need lots of tissues… Beautiful, enchanting, leaving me in tears with a big lump in my throat right to the end.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

It’s probably best if you go into this one with a box of tissues and a free afternoon with no commitments. I was a blubbering mess!… An emotional roller coaster… Fantastic.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

Wow what a read! Be prepared to shed a tear


Author

Shirley Dickson:
Shirley Dickson was born and grew up in the seaside town of South Shields. She left school at fifteen and can’t remember a time when she didn’t write. She entered her first short story competition in ‘School Friend’ when she was eleven. After Shirley retired from auxiliary nursing, she was able to devote her time to writing. After living in various locations, she settled under the big skies of Northumberland and has lived with her husband in the same house for over forty years. Shirley has three daughters and four grandchildren and likes nothing better than family gatherings.

Info

Reviews