Unlost

Unlost

A journey of self-discovery and the healing power of the wild outdoors

Gail Muller

$4.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

Gail Muller was told she’d be in a wheelchair by the age of forty. At forty-one she set out to hike one of the world’s toughest treks, The Appalachian Trail – a 2,200-mile journey that would help her reclaim her life and heal her mind and body. An inspiring, moving and uplifting memoir for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.

As Gail took her first steps through the wilderness of the USA, she had no idea what lay ahead of her, but she knew she felt burnout from city life, lost and broken – ready to heal a mind and body that she had battled with for so long.

From the resilience-building mountain climbs, painful injuries and harsh reality of braving the raw elements, to the unexpected friendships forged with other hikers and the kindness of strangers offering food and shelter – with every step, Gail started to let go of a past dominated by chronic pain and reconnected with herself in a way she’d never been able to before.

A love letter to the healing power of the wild outdoors and an incredible testament to the strength of the human spirit, Gail’s story is for anyone who has ever felt stuck in a rut, lost or scared. She shows us that even in our darkest times, it’s possible to find our inner grit, face our fears and feel hopeful.

Read what everyone is saying about Unlost:

Amazing!…OMG! I really loved your book!... I’m not a crier, but your last chapter had me almost in tears. So (wonderfully) emotional.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Had me hooked from the beginning…This book is for so many people…it's fun and interesting and the various trail families and characters are terrific… a gem of a book.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I found myself holding my breathI felt like I was right there with her.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Inspirationalmade me snort or chuckle - or suck in my breath. I read the book in more or less a day - I just had to consume it… a joy to read.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Gail writes with humour, heart and passion.’ Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times #1 bestselling author

I loved this book so much. I was so invested from the very start… Was sad for this one to end! Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Loved this open and honest book! It was so raw and real you feel like you get to know the author like a friend. I loved hearing about her adventures and life.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Inspiring… illustrates the power of the great outdoors and the positive effects it can have on body and mind.’ Jordan Wylie, Adventurer and Bestselling Author


Author

Gail Muller:
Gail Muller is an adventurer, writer and educator from Cornwall, UK. Her personal story is one of hope overcoming adversity; managing chronic pain and illness in order to achieve hard and inspiring things. This message of tenacious, hopeful overcoming is riven through her writing, and in the work she does with adults and young people. In her teens she was predicted by doctors to be in a wheelchair by the age of 40, and subsequently dealt with 12+ years of crippling chronic pain from her 20’s onwards. After battling with traditional western medicine, opiates, and no answers she then searched the world for a solution, eventually finding a way to resolve most of this pain and recover enough to live a more than full life. In 2019, once rehabbed, Gail hiked 2,200 miles solo and southbound on the Appalachian Trail – down the East coast of the USA through mostly mountains and forests with just a single pack. It took 7 months in total, and she completed the last 850 miles with two broken bones in her foot – a feat of true strength and resilience. Gail continues to push her own limits and take on long-distance expeditions, learning new skills all the time. She also uses her 18+ years of experience at the top of her game in education as a teacher, leader and advisor to help share the skills and knowledge she has acquired. Helping people to achieve more than they believe they can has always been Gail’s passion. In her writing and motivational talks she speaks about making friends with life-limiting barriers such as physical or mental illness, showing how everyone can realistically manage adversity by embracing it rather than fighting it. Gail is a passionate advocate for the power of the outdoors, and believes that being in nature can deliver powerful lessons that enhance our lives in every way. 

Info

Reviews